top of page
girl-gainz logo lockup white 1000.png

Nutrition & Training Packages

Apple Filled Protein Muffins


There's a little coffee shop in Bath where I live that sells the most incredible apple filled muffins so I thought i'd see if I could recreate a version which was a little more calorie friendly.

As well as being only 110 calories a muffin (meaning you could eat 4 for the same number of calories as the apple muffin in that shop...) they're gluten free & pack a little protein hit too.

As discussed in my recent YouTube video, the quality of the baking powder you use in this will dramatically change the end result of the muffins. To keep mine super soft I use vanilla Bio Whey from Genetic Supplements, it's a much finer protein powder & the taste is much sweeter. After watching my YouTube review Genetic were kind enough t offer a 10% discount on all purchases made through this website, CLICK HERE to shop.

I don't make any money through this link by the way, i just genuinely think it's a great product!

In these muffins I also used a cinnamon-apple low calorie baking powder from Franky's Bakery. Again, if you've been following my "Full Day of Eating" videos on YouTube you'll know how much I love this product. It's not essential for this recipe but the end result is much better with it.

If apple cinnamon isn't your thing, the vanilla cookies & vanilla almond powders also work well in this recipe. You can get yours HERE.

I'd also recommend that for these muffins you use silicone, cardboard or foil muffin cases. As the recipe is quite low in fat, regular thin paper cases might get stuck!

Servings: Makes 4 muffins

Macros per serving: 108kcal / 12g protein / 9g carbs / 3g fat / 3g fibre

Ingredients:

30g finely ground oats (I used Ready Brek)

1 serving vanilla whey (see details above)

80g apple sauce (I used Waitrose Essentials) - can sweeten with Stevia if needed

2 medium eggs

50ml milk of choice (I used Alpro unsweetened almond milk)

1/2 tsp baking powder

Optional: 2 scoops Frankys Bakery cinnamon-apple powder (see details above) if not using this use 1tsp stevia & cinnamon to taste.

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 180c.

2. Add oats, whey, baking powders & eggs into a mixer & mix well.

3. Fold 20g apple sauce into the mix (allowing as much air to get into the batter as possible).

4. Immediately pour into cases & get into oven (to keep as much air into the mix as possible).

5. Bake for 12-minutes or until a fork placed into the middle of the muffin comes out clean.

6. Once cooled, slice the top off of each muffin & carve a small hole using a spoon.

7. Mix the remaining apple sauce (you can add stevia & cinnamon to this to taste!) with the bit you carved from each muffin & fill the centre of each muffin with this mixture.

8. Eat! :-)

Recent Posts
Follow me:

@girlgainzblog

NUTrition & Training Packages

Starting at £15 per week

Instagram Profile.png
bottom of page